I have fought for some time with how to walk as a Christian at work so others see my life and just know Jesus walks with me. I don’t believe I need to be a Jesus-Freak, just a light. I have asked God for many years and through many jobs to show me how.
This week I had an awesome opportunity to walk as Jesus-through-David at work. There is a manager who I believe might be a Christian. I came home for lunch and felt led to write a note of encouragement. I believed God told me to tell him to walk with integrity, mercy and compassion, that the Father saw him and was proud of him, and to not get discouraged because things looked bad.

I wrote the note and stuck it in my pocket. Several times I went on walks to try and find him in the warehouse, but always others were around. Once I took the letter down to his office but he was talking to another supervisor and there were some f-bombs going off. Now I paused—this man is not showing fruit. I could get in trouble giving God-notes to managers.

Finally right before leaving, he was outside the bathroom and I told him I felt led to write something at lunch and not to get weirded out, just take it with a grain of salt. (What does that mean?) He read it and I ran off. But as I was leaving he was reading the note, and while walking with two others, he waved and said thanks.

As I was driving home, God reminded me that Jesus was not a freak. He was simply Jesus-walking-as-Jesus on this earth. The only identity I have to take on is David-walking-as-Jesus on this earth. I don’t have to be afraid. I just have to love people however the Father shows. I plant or water and God causes the increase. I have no clue what the note did to that man that day. But someone knows God loves them enough to ask another guy to pass him God-notes at work.

Submitted by David

